Red Rock Pass Information

Get your pass before you head to the trails.

What is a Red Rock Pass?

If you are visiting Sedona’s Red Rock Country and you want to do some exploring, you will most likely need to purchase a Sedona Red Rock Pass.  A Red Rock Pass is a user/parking permit that is required when you are visiting the Sedona trails system on the National Forest Land.  The Red Rock Pass is $5 for the day, $15 for seven days or $20 for the year.  If required, the pass must be displayed prominently in the windshield of your vehicle.  If you plan to make a quick stop for a photo or to take a rest, no pass is needed for visits lasting under 15 minutes.  However, citations are given to those who choose not to display the pass when required. 

Where can I find a Red Rock Pass?

Here is a partial list of trailheads and recreation areas that require a Red Rock Pass;

  • Bell Rock Pathway
  • Courthouse Rock Trailhead
  • Little Horse Trailhead
  • Back O’Beyond & Cathedral Rock Trailhead
  • Midgley Bridge Parking Lot
  • Encinoso & Halfway Picnic Areas in Oak Creek Canyon
  • Boynton Canyon Trailhead
  • Airport Road Trailhead
  • Palatki Cultural Site
  • Huckaby Trailhead

You may purchase the Red Rock Pass at self serve machines located at most of the trailheads, the Sedona Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center in Uptown Sedona, the Ranger Stations or at local hotels and businesses around Sedona.  If you have an America the Beautiful Interagency Pass, Golden Age Pass or the Golden Access Pass, purchasing a Red Rock Pass is probably not necessary.

Not all areas require a Red Rock Pass, but charge a separate admission fee.  These areas include the Grasshopper Point Picnic Area, Crescent Moon Day Use, West Fork Trailhead, Arizona State Parks like Slide Rock State Park and Red Rock State Park and many other areas not mentioned here.

Need more information?

For more specific information about the Red Rock Pass Program and the America the Beautiful Interagency Pass, visit the Coconino National Forest website at